Grow your Blog 2014

Standard

Welcome to my little corner of the web. thank you for taking the time to visit from the Grow your Blog event hosted by 2 bags full blog

I am Rach, a mid 40’s New Zealander, freshly back in my home country after most of my adult life living in London, UK.

this blog charts my journey to put down roots and find a way of life that suits my values and beliefs in life. this is tending more towards a simpler way of life, more like that of our grandmothers and great grandmothers. my ultimate goal would be to live completely off grid, being as self reliant as possible. for now, that is just a dream i work towards every day – learning to make things, grow food, cook from scratch, be less reliant of electricity and mass produced items.

Some of the things i post about currently are –

my home town of Christchurch New Zealand, and its recovery from a major earthquake 3 years ago.

 

P1110055

my love of cats and my secret desire to be a crazy cat lady one day. this fellow below adopted our family, a victim of the quakes we think, in so far as we believe his owners up and left. he’s incredibly lovable!.

P1110098

my crafting pursuits. i made this blanket over about a 6 month period a year ago. i’m about to start a new crochet blanket. i also cross stitch and am doing a monthly Project Life spread starting this year.

P1070800

 

I love history, statues, travelling, reading. bits of these things crop up from time to time on the blog. Below is the architect of the Royal Courts of Justice, in London.

P1090431

and i love vintage. i always have a nosey in the charity shops when i can, as well as ebay (the NZ version is trade me ), and garage sales here in NZ. my greatest score – Β a wonderful sideboard the owner believed no one would want so listed it on freecycle in London. i did, and i brought it back to NZ!.

P1090072

P1100257 P1100266

 

when i have contributions, i participate in a few blog link ups –

Slow Living Essentials

Op Shop Show Off

prior to this blog i had one over at blogger, which was giving me grief, so i started this one. however i have kept that one as it has all my blogs i like to follow. i love to spend a rainy weekend or evening blog hopping round the net, finding new blogs that share the same interests as me. if you’re interested in seeing some of the blogs i follow, pop over to my old blog and scroll down – i think i’ve got about 50 on the list at the moment!.

so, thats me!. i hope some of you might visit again and watch the crafting and home making unfold as i resettle in the city of my birth.

 

**thank you for any comments you wish to leave. i am out of the country, but hope to be able to monitor comments and reply as needed.

 

49 responses »

  1. Hi Rach, hello New Zealand and hugs to Christchurch and your cute displaced cat! You did well with that free sideboard, hope it didn’t cost a fortune shipping it back to NZ?!
    I have enjoyed your blog and will enjoy keeping you with all your news
    Wren x

  2. Hi Rach,

    I’m visiting from the Grow Your Blog party. It is nice to meet you. I’m so sorry to hear about the terrible earthquake which struck your area 3 years ago. I too love cats and your new family member is a very lucky one! I plan to look around a bit more and then be on my way to visit the others. I do hope you will stop by for a visit and enter my giveaway. Have a wonderful weekend! Hugs – Donna

  3. WONDERFUL blog! I so agree about a simpler life – although people DO look at me like I’m mad for turning down modern gadgets and such! I dream of moving to the wild countryside of Scotland and hoarding rescue animals πŸ˜€ My uncle lived in New Zealand and missed it dreadfully when he came back to the UK so it’s lovely to see the photos that you share. Looking forward to returning to your blog and reading more once this hectic blog hop is done! Glad I found your part of cyberspace via ‘Grow Your Blog’ – best wishes from Shroo:)x (and a big ‘paws-up’ from my kitty to yours)
    http://artyshroo.blogspot.co.uk/

    • Thanks for stopping by Shroo. If I hadn’t left the UK to return home, I’d have looked at Scotland for some land. I look forward to visiting your blog and seeing your kitty.

  4. look at that cat – so cute. that statue reminds of Robert E. Lee … need to investigate more. hi there. i’m Beth from E. Lizard Breath Speaks – so nice to meet you through the Grow Your Blog get together/party. ( :

  5. HI Rach,

    Visiting from the GYB blog hop. So nice to meet you. I enjoyed browsing your blog and hope to do more…. I hope you’ll pop over and say hi! Hugs! deb

  6. So happy to have found my way here via the GYB party and to have a peek into your world. Love your vintage finds and your handsome kitty, and I look forward to getting to know you better.

  7. Enjoyed discovering your blog thanks to the GYB party. what a wild experience getting to know so many wonderful artists in such a short time. I’m following you and will check in regularly to see what you’re up to. I’m at wirednan.blogspot.ca

  8. Hi, Rach! I’m visiting as a GYB blogger. It’s great to make your acquaintance. Your lovely country has been a sort of siren call for me since I lived on Guam in the 1960s and had a neighbor who shared her love of her homeland. I look forward to learning more about you and your home. Your blog will be a frequent destination for me. Sara

  9. Cats are so therapeutic. My husband thinks I’m a crazy cat lady now. We have two that live upstairs and one that I call my “Studio Cat” because that is where she lives. Vintage is always better! It was so nice to meet you.

    Hugs
    Caroline

  10. I am SO glad that cat’s former owners left him behind…now he has a REAL home. Visiting via Vicki’s GYBP and enjoying your blog. I adore antique and vintage as well and have a boat load of cats, dogs, horses, sheep and alpacas. Oh, mustn’t forget the 2 guinea’s.

  11. Hi Rach
    It’s lovely to meet you as part of Vicki’s GYB party! I think we may be the only two kiwi bloggers here!
    Loved your post and I’ve read some of your previous ones too. I was very envious when I saw you snared a Ball mason jar – what a beauty the large one is! I’m always on the lookout for them too.
    I haunt the hospice shops etc too – one of my fave things to do!
    I don’t go on trademe a lot but I probably need to do it more as I’m on the lookout for more MOP white buttons for my collage work.
    The neighborhood stitching is lovely! I’m an embroiderer too.
    Hope you’ve had a great time in Oz.

    I’m following you now!
    Please come over and see me and enter my giveaway.
    I’ll be back when the party winds down.

    Hugs
    Shane

  12. Hi Rach, Popping over from GYB. Your blog sounds lovely; I too moved from London back to my palce of birth around 2 years ago now. Although I am originally from the North of England it is still miles and miles of different to London so I understand the need to leave and the urge to put down simpler, more sustainable roots elsewhere πŸ™‚
    Hope you are enjoying your travels. Keli x
    PS: your adopted cat is gorgeous!!

  13. Hi, so nice to meet you here. I also try to live as simply as possible. I try not to acquire anything I do not really need and try to give my excess to someone who can use it. I enjoyed reading your blog. Thanks for sharing. Happy hopping!

  14. Greetings from South Carolina, USA! So very pleased to get acquainted with you and your blog. Like you, my blog is not limited to just one thing, but about whatever strikes me. We seem to have quite a lot in common, as I am a lifelong craft addict and I love to visit the thrift stores and the thrill of looking for something—whatever strikes my fancy or fills a need. Recycling and reusing things makes me feel good.

    I am signing up to be a follower and I sincerely hope you can find a moment to visit me at my blog!

  15. Hi, I am coming over all the way from Germany. Love your blog and am a new follower to see more from you!
    I have a little garden in a part of which I grow veggies. Best food ever!
    See you soon again, Tina

  16. I’m visiting through the GYB hop. I don’t know much about New Zealand but it sounds beautiful. So sad about the damage to that church. I can’t imagine why anyone would leave their cat behind. Lucky that he found you.

Leave a Reply

