two things……

Standard

i’m trying really hard to meet my self imposed deadline of finishing the neighbourhood by the end of the month = monday!. i’ve sat and had a couple of really good sessions on it this week and i think i may be able to make it after all.

this is where i ended today – the border meets up at the top as well!. massive phew!.

P1110895

all thats left is the leaves on the tree, the second woman and a basket beside her, then the remaining leaves and flowers around the border. i’m going to need to buy another skein of thread for all the leaves. the pattern doesnt say you need two skeins, but i’m going to need another one!.

the other thing to report today, that i’m a little giddy about is this plant to add to my small but growing stock pile of self reliance plants for the future. its a pine nut tree!. for some reason this morning i was thinking about looking into growing pine nuts, and low and behold, when i took my mother to a garden centre, there they were!. on top of that, the price was reduced at the till, so i saved money!. my mother thought i was bonkers!!.

P1110891

 

i’m reading Down to Earth by Rhonda Hetzel at the moment, and i think thats where the idea for being prepared came from, re the pine nuts!.

plus, i am bonkers really!!.

9 responses »

  1. Don’t think you are bonkers at all! Sounds very sensible to me. We have three fruit trees that we love – and I’m thinking of plant a pecan. It was meant to be – that pine nut tree.

  2. Well it’s great if you like pine nuts! (I don’t but know lots of people do). Good for you thinking into the future. Your sampler is almost done and looks great. I know I’m always relieved when my borders meet up!

  3. The sampler looks fabulous. You can see it’s almost there. I love that stage when you only have a few bits to do to get a finish 🙂

    I’d love to grow a pine nut tree. I love ’em! I am planning on a couple of apple trees and maybe some rhubarb. Once the Back Jungle is sufficiently tamed, of course.

  4. A pine nut tree sounds good. I wonder if it is like the pines that grow down here in South Carolina. They do, of course, produce seeds, which I think is what pine nuts are. The seeds from the trees here are quite small and it would take an awful long time to get much of a supply from them. I hope you will post on how it did later!

    • Hi Lynn, apparently it takes a few years before you can harvest, which is why I decided to get it now, so it can do the growth in pots while I work towards having a permanent home for it.

Leave a Reply

