The promise of new seeds

Standard

now that spring is in the air, I have been acquiring some seeds for the upcoming season. oh how I love buying seed – the promise of all sorts of wonderful fresh vegetables!. my seed collection has grown markedly in the past week thanks to discovering I can buy seed via trade me (nz’s version of fleabay!). i have found a great seller here in CHCH and have brought a fair bit from her. I also picked up a few seeds from a seller in the north island.

on top of that, I have joined the seed saving network here in CHCH, and my plan ultimately is to be able to become a seed guardian for heirloom seeds here. I probably wont be able to this season due to a lack of space in my parents garden, but who knows, I may be able to sneak a bit more space here and there!!. as part of the membership I’m entitiled to 10 packets of heirloom seeds. I’ve made my picks and am just waiting for them to arrive.

now, a little show and tell…..

P1120083

a shot of everything in the seed box currently!

P1120084

a mixed lot – pumpkin, melon, cucumber, quinoa, lentils, soapwort, sweetcorn,

P1120085

my furry assistant inspecting the packets!.

P1120086

carrots – rainbow, purple and white. i have a red coming from the seed exchange.P1120087

beans – red kidney, purple, yellow, green; mix of dwarf and climbing, and a very small pile for me – i have another 2 or 3 varieties coming from the seed exchange!!

P1120088

tomatoes – mostly cherry and cooking tomatoes in a variety of colours – red!, black, yellow and white. also, another few varieties coming from the seed exchange. 

i’m looking forward to planting a few tomato plants, and some beans this year, with maybe a melon. so excited!!.

Leave a Reply

