seedling updates

Standard

I love the promise of new seeds as they begin to sprout.

I’m in my first serious year of growing food in NZ after experimenting on my allotment in the UK for 3+ years. this year will definitely be a trial and error year. Plus I dont have alot of growing space and things have to be slotted in here and there in my mothers garden.

so far I have growing 2 sowings of broad beans, lettuce, silverbeet, strawberries, blueberries, pinenuts, mandarins, french beans in yellow and green, red kidney beans, black eyed peas, sweetcorn, tomatoes – cherry and cooking, in red and white, leeks, spring onions.

I also have some red onions that will be ready to harvest soon.

below- all the seedlings enjoying some warm Canterbury sunshine. they still mainly live indoors, but on the warmer days I am putting them out now. I’m particularly proud of the tomato seeds that you can just spot in the middle of the photo. these are from the local heritage seed exchange. the seeds were harvested in 2009!. I’ve been asked to give some back and its taken a while for the first sowing to germinate, but one has overnight, and the ones in the middle were a second sowing – I have about 5 of the variety now so hopefully I can generate a few seeds to give back later. a couple of the bean varieties are also for the seed exchange.

P1120122

I love watching beans as they emerge.

P1120124

tulips growing in a wooden wheelbarrow – these should be my favourite = Queen of the Night.

P1120126

I’m not a big fan of daffs, but I do love the pink ones.

P1120128

and thanks to wordpress having a small issue with photos today, another shot of the seedlings that should have been up with the other at the top!.

if you are in the southern hemisphere, have you started your seeds yet? I’m not sure if I’m too early, but time will tell.

P1120129

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

