2015 Reading Challenge.

Standard

I noticed on Pinterest last week a pin for a reading challenge for 2015. it appealed to me as it wasn’t specific books, rather types of books. I’m not a huge reader – buyer, yes – reader no!. so I felt 50 books was too big of a challenge, and I didn’t like some of the options (i know its a challenge!), so I picked out 31 that I felt I could achieve. reading 31 books in a year will still be a challenge for me I believe.

here is the link to the original post.

and this is my revised list – in brackets are my thoughts on what to read at this stage.

A book with more than 500 pages

A classic romance ( pride and prejudice)

A book that became a movie ( Philomena)

A book published this year (4th Deborah Challinor hopefully)

A book with a number in the title

A book by a female author ( 3rd Deborah Challinor)

A book with a one word title

A book set in a different country (Harem midwife)

A popular author’s first book

A nonfiction book ( JFK )

A book by an author you love but not read yet ( Lisa Jewell)

A Pulitzer prize winning book

A book based on a true story ( philomina)

A book at the bottom of your to read pile ( JFK)

A book more than 100 yrs old ( pride and prejudice)

A book based entirely on its cover (tumbledown manor)

A memoir

A book you can finish in a day

A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

A book that came out the year you were born

A trilogy (Fiona mccallum series)

A book with a love triangle

A book with a colour in the title

A book by an author you’ve never read before (Fiona mccallum)

A book you own but never read  !!!!!!! < that would be most of my bookshelves!

A book that takes place in your hometown < could be a struggle

A book that was originally written in another language ( madame bovary ?)

A book set at Christmas ( an outlaws Christmas, Linda Lael Miller (bodice ripper!!) ) x = finished 4/1/15

A book written by an author with your initials

A book based on or turned into a tv series ( masters of sex )

A book you started but never finished ( masters of sex).

I plan to only use what’s on my book shelves, ibooks or the library, with the exception of the book published this year. I hope  the 4th in a series i’ve been reading will be published this year. I may also cheat a little (!!!) and double up a couple of categories if I start to struggle throughout the year.

so…..1st finish of the year is An Outlaw’s Christmas by Linda Lael Miller.

P1120353

this is a western romance set at the turn of the century. its a quick read and since I  had enjoyed other books of hers, I thought this might be a nice read at Christmas time. its the story of school teacher who finds a shot man on her doorstep, takes him in, cares for him and, shock horror, falls in love with him. with a backdrop of snow and Christmas it was gentle and easy going!.

5 responses »

  1. Ooh, I like that challenge. I’m going to have a go at that.

    Good luck with yours. I shall be looking to see what you read for some of the categories 🙂

  2. Pingback: A new reading challenge | A slight obsession with books

Leave a Reply

